Meet the Team

Covering 200 miles from Gonzales to the San Jacinto Battleground, Team TSHA will run day and night on March 25-26, 2017. Once again, Andrew J. Torget, Associate Professor of History at UNT, will lead Team TSHA in the 200-mile relay past many sites that figured in Texas Independence. Support the team, the Handbook, and TSHA by sponsoring Team TSHA at the level of your choice.

Andrew Torget's Photo

Andrew Torget

Andrew J. Torget, of Denton, is associate professor of history at UNT and an avid distance runner. This will be Andrew's fifth straight Texas Independence Relay at the helm of Team TSHA. … View

Nicole Selene Mims's Photo

Nicole Selene Mims

Nicole Selene Mims, of Corpus Christi, graduated from the University of North Texas in 2010 with B.A. in History. She is currently earning her doctorate in Physical Therapy while also working as a free-lance personal … View

Jason McGhee's Photo

Jason McGhee

Jason McGhee works in health and technology and has been a Texan for most of his life. He began running after a 20 year break in 2006 and ran a dozen marathons and many half … View

Clay C's Photo

Clay C

Clay C. is a native Texan who is in his tenth year teaching 7th grade Texas History at Greiner Middle School in Dallas ISD. He has a BA in History from Austin College and took … View

Ben Davis's Photo

Ben Davis

Davis was born in Houston Texas in 1981. In 2007 he moved to Kerrville Texas to attend Schreiner University where he received a B.A. in Creative Arts. Davis currently lives in Denton Texas where he … View

Cody Edwards's Photo

Cody Edwards

Cody Edwards, of Corpus Christi, began a career with the National Park Service at Padre Island National Seashore in January of 2017. He aims to specialize in historic preservation and cultural resource interpretation with the … View

Matthew Babcock's Photo

Matthew Babcock

Matthew Babcock, of Dallas, is an assistant professor of History at UNT Dallas and an active member of the Dallas running community. He has run numerous road and trail races across Texas and the … View

Dawn Hosking's Photo

Dawn Hosking

Dawn Hosking, is a Continuity Director for iHeartMedia and an adjunct instructor in the Communications Tech program at UNT Dallas. She is returning to TIR this year and loves to run trail and road all … View

Robyn Allen's Photo

Robyn Allen

Robyn Allen of Frisco, Texas attended the University of North Texas while completing her B.S. in Kinesiology/Health Sciences. Currently, she works in the life insurance industry, serving as a business analyst in marketing. Robyn began … View

James Allen's Photo

James Allen

James Allen, of Frisco, is a native Texan and grew up in Central Texas. He currently works in project management for a Dallas based mechanical contractor. He played sports and ran track in high school. … View

Brian Bolinger's Photo

Brian Bolinger Road Crew

Brian A. Bolinger was named the Chief Executive Officer of the Texas State Historical Association by the board of directors on October 11, 2014.

A Texas resident for 14 years, Bolinger has an extensive business … View

Steve Cure's Photo

Steve Cure Road Crew

Stephen S. Cure, Chief Operating Officer. An Army veteran and 1994 graduate of The University of Texas at Austin, Stephen Cure has over nine years of classroom experience teaching at the middle and high school … View

Richard McCaslin's Photo

Richard McCaslin Road Crew

Dr. Richard B. McCaslin, TSHA Professor of Texas History at the University of North Texas and Fellow of the Texas State Historical Association, is the author or editor of eighteen books, of which six have … View

Graham Cox's Photo

Graham Cox Road Crew

Graham Cox received his PhD in 2008 from the University of Houston and is a continuing lecturer and undergraduate advisor in the History Department at the University of North Texas. His research focuses on the … View

Team TSHA:

Andrew Torget's Photo Nicole Selene Mims's Photo Jason McGhee's Photo Clay C's Photo Ben Davis's Photo Cody Edwards's Photo Matthew Babcock's Photo Dawn Hosking's Photo Robyn Allen's Photo James Allen's Photo Brian Bolinger's Photo Steve Cure's Photo Richard McCaslin's Photo Graham Cox's Photo